Part of the Glyn Academies Trust

Early Years (Nursery and Reception)

At Marden Lodge, in Nursery and Reception from 2 to 5 years, we offer a diverse, engaging curriculum which challenges and inspires children to be motivated learners. Our curriculum is unique to our school and reflects the children’s interests in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. Our teaching and learning is responsive to the awe and wonder of the world around us and promotes the development of the whole child: mentally; emotionally; physically; academically and socially. We encourage the children to be independent, motivated and resilient enabling them to explore and take risks within a secure environment. Our children are able to free-flow between their classroom indoors and the outdoor area – come rain or shine! This open plan approach allows the children to explore their own interests at their own pace and is enhanced through circle times and adult-led teaching opportunities. 


We aim for the children to achieve a ‘Good Level of Development’ at the end of their time in Reception, which at least matches National figures. We pride ourselves in getting the children ready for KS1 – with a love of learning, independence and resilience. 


Meet the Team

Miss K Bullman

Nursery Class Teacher / Early Years Leader

Miss N Drury

Reception Class Teacher / Early Years Leader

Mrs L Pay

Nursery Practitioner

Miss R Draper

Nursery Practitioner

Miss C Kinsella

Nursery Practitioner

Mrs C Johnson

Nursery Practitioner

Mrs M Apostolova

Reception Learning Support Assistant


Here at Marden Lodge our Early Classes are named after woodland creatures:

Hoglets – 2 Year Olds

Hedgehogs – 3 & 4 Year Olds

Rabbits - Reception


Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The EYFS is the first stage of a child’s education and sets out the learning and development stages for children as they grow from birth to five years. For those working in the Early Years - whether in a nursery, pre-school, a childminder or in Reception - the EYFS outlines what we need to do to support your child. This is a very important stage of your child’s development as it helps them to get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. 


The EYFS Curriculum is underpinned by 7 areas of learning: 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas. Within those 7 areas of learning your child’s first five years are divided up into six age bands which overlap. 


Birth-11months | 8-20 months | 16-26 months | 22-36 months | 30-50 months | 40-60+ months


This is because every child is different and each child develops and grows at a different pace. We use these age bands to support your child on their own personal learning journey, monitor progress and ensure that they are achieving their developmental milestones. Children learn in different ways and deepen their understanding by playing, talking, observing, planning, questioning, experimenting, testing, repeating, reflecting and responding to adults and each other.  As the curriculum explains, “play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults”.


Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


You can find further details of the 7 Areas of Learning in the attachments below. 


The Early Years Curriculum at Marden Lodge

Each half term we have an overarching topic which provides a plethora of opportunities for the children to explore their own interests and lines of enquiry.


Autumn 1: My World

Autumn 2: Autumn

Spring 1: Tell Me a Story

Spring 2: Down on the Farm

Summer 1: Wriggle Giggle

Summer 2: I Do Like to be Beside the Seaside


Autumn 1: This Is Me!

Autumn 2: Whizzpopping Wonders

Spring 1: Once Upon a Time

Spring 2: Who Lives There?

Summer 1: Roots, Shoots and Muddy Boots

Summer 2: The Sky, the Sea, the Land



Page Downloads